Beginner Prime Lens

Edit My Images
Yes
I'm looking for some advice on a prime lens. My wife has just given birth to a little boy and i am looking to take some natural images as he grows up.

Now i am a complete amateur and generally read up a little and then practice what I've read up on. I have a Nikon D3100 with the standard 18-55mm kit lens and a 55-300mm telephoto lens.

Upon reading about a prime lens predominately used indoors I have come up with either a 35mm or 50mm f1.8 Nikon lens, unless i can be convinced by a Tamron or Sigma equivalent.

My question is which would be the better all rounder and perhaps some of you could post photographs as examples of what I may expect from such a lens.

Many thanks.

Depends how "in their face" you want to be. I used a 35mm ONLY on a trip to India. See image. I love primes, pain if you want to change to another lens. I always decide what I want to achieve before I go snapping.

India and Nepal-8419-2.jpg

If you don't have a nifty50 in your kit bag, you should have. However.....

The 35mm will help in tight situations, and given that its a crop sensor camera, multiply the effective focal length by 1.5 to get an equivalent. (So the 35 will be the equivalent of 50mm at FF, and the 50mm will be the equivalent of a 75mm). You can replicate the distances on your existing set up, although you will find the prime better in lower light.

I am a big fan of the 35mm length in general.

Last edited:
The 35mm 1.8g is a stonking lens for the price on your camera. I bought one for my D40x and still use it a lot on my D7100.

The focal length is ideal for use indoors on the crop sensor (I think a 50mm would be too long tbh) and I used it for every single shot of our newborn last year.

Get a 35mm 1.8! Enough said

As suggested get the 35mm f1.8, if you had camera with a motor like the D90/D7000 etc I would have said go for the Tamron 17-50 non vc. F2.8.