Projecting

Name
Ian
Edit My Images
No
So off the back of Nick's E6 thread, I wondered if there are many projectors here?

- Do you/have you project(ed) your sildes?
- Do you do medium format?
- Do you project for yourself or for others?
- The internet says MF projected images are something quite special. Is this true?
- I listened to the FPP podcast about projecting a year (or two!) ago which put me off because sourcing bulbs can be a nightmare, and if you don't do it properly, you can burn your negatives. Is this a fallacy or true? [oddly specific I know...]

I have never, in my life, seen medium format projected images. I think I would like to.

Yes to Q1, both to Q3. But I, like you, have never seen any MF.

We have a mixture of family 60s & 70S slides - Kodachrome looking stunning 60 years on plus some own brand stuff from the early 80s.

I started shooting slide film myself in mid 2000s and have a fresh roll mounted every so often. Hopefully my kids will think twice about chucking them out when the wife and I are gone.

35mm second hand projectors were v good value a few years ago - not sure now though.

Edit: They still are good value! https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bell-How...745780?hash=item4222be69b4:g:AGEAAOSwDb5fjbdZ

Last edited:
It's incredible and I wish I had more shots on slide.
I've got a Norris Trumpf medium format projector with spare bulbs, it also does 35mm. You can have it if you want, I'll never use it and it cost peanuts.

I have two projectors with appropriate equipment for dissolve projection. Both are 35mm.

I used slide film in 35mm, never larger. With no Kodachrome available, slide film has no appeal. I haven't knowingly seen a larger slide projected.

It is possible to heat up slides, and some projectors had heat filters. Slides can pop on heating, leading to a need to refocus. I imagine it could be possible to put in a too hot running bulb.

Last edited:
Yes
No
Myself and family (only those genuinely interested - no conscription here!)