Rolleiflex slx - A Resolution

Name
Andy Grant
Edit My Images
Yes
I know that this happens regularly but I'm considering trying another medium format system and I am intrigued by the Rollei SLX. It seems to be an interesting mix of TLR and SLR, not too heavy and adaptable and maybe the answer to my current 'going off large format' problem. Thoughts, experience, jokes?

Andy

:eek: but what about the blue and gold hasselblad?!

Looks like a pretty cool camera though :)

:eek: but what about the blue and gold hasselblad?!

Looks like a pretty cool camera though :)

I'm not allowed anything gold, it makes me giddy. :wideyed::)

The P & S medium format GA645 variants by fuji are also a good antidote to going off large format.

SLX thing looks very interesting. AF & 6x6 were on my shopping list as well. I'd probably trade the automat for that. I like the results from it but it involves too much work.

What sort of money do these actually go for?

I have no experience of this camera but I'd be a bit wary of the reliance on electronics, based on my experience with a Mamiya RZ67. The contacts between the removable film back and camera, and camera and prism,can be a source of problems. If I had my time again with a Mamiya system I would prefer the mechanical RB to the RZ for that reason.

As it happens I'm waiting for a totally mechanical Intrepid 4 * 5 to arrive.

Last edited:
Thanks Kevin, my research indicates as such although the SLX 2 is apparently much more reliable.

Andy

In the wee small hours of this morning I was laying awake pondering what to do. :thinking: Then it hit me, I already have the solution, the camera that suits me. A camera that takes stunningly good images even with me helping it, a camera with interchangeable lenses of superb quality, a camera that though heavy is nowhere near as bulky or weighty as a full large format kit... My Mamiya C330 and its 4 lovely lenses :)