Scotland Camping Trip, July 2015 - Equipment

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all, this is my first post on the forums, please be gentle! :)

I am a burgeoning amateur on a limited budget, and have just splashed out on a 100D with a 18-55mm STM kit lens and a 55-250mm STM zoom. I also have a 58mm Hoya circular polarizer in the post.

We are heading off the Scotland for a 10day camping trip and I am trying to decide if i need the 10-18mm wide angle STM lens, and possibly some ND filters for waterfalls etc. I am keen to get into landscape photography, and worry that I will be missing out on some opportunities (although would prefer not to spend the money at the moment!).

Any advice gratefully received, thanks.

Last edited:
Have a look at lensesforhire.co.uk - you will be able to hire a Canon wide angle lens for that period which could be more economical than buying if you don't need or want one for a while after.

ND filters you'd have to buy and can be reasonably expensive. Have a look at Hitech filters for a cheaper option than Lee.

18-55 is a good start, wide angle is nice of course! Maybe first learn to master your camera before investing in expensive gear...even with a kit-lens you can make nice pictures.
ND filters will come in handy, GND too for the high contrasts, especially in Scotland.
A good steady tripod is a must have!