Beginner Seeking advice Re: Product Photography

Name
Victoria
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, I'm not a professional photographer, I sell my products online so have had to learn how to photograph them for my online listings (I sell wedding accessories, mostly guest books and albums, so small -medium size products).

I have a Nikon D3100. My usual set up is a flat lay near to a window with my camera on a tripod. I use a 40mm 1:2.8 lens and I shoot in Aperture Priority mode, usually with an aperture of around 5.6 (altering the exposure to try and get the best result). ISO 200. White Balance- cloudy, Quality -fine. I use a diffuser panel to even out the light and a light coloured board to bounce it back in from the other side.

My photos are o.k. and my products sell, but I know the images could be better...they often look a bit grey and lack clarity. I currently edit in Pixlr so tweak the brightness, contrast, colour temp etc there. Just wondered if anyone has any advice on how I can improve my technique please and get clearer, punchier pictures? (Examples of some of my product images below)

I have just purchased 2 NanGuang LED Lux Pads as I thought they might help boost the light and help me maintain some lighting consistency in my images. Does anyone know if it's o.k. to use these light pads in conjunction with natural light (and if so how best to do that) or should they be used as the only source of light i.e. in a room where natural light is closed off?

Any advice gratefully received, thank you!

DSC0013-copy-457x379.jpg
DSC_0030-pixlr-457x366.jpg

DSC0028-copy-457x349.jpg
DSC0028-copy-457x376.jpg

I had to look up "NanGuang LED Lux Pads" - expensive for what they are - can you send them back? According to the stated specs, they have about the same colour temperature as daylight, so it should be OK to use them with daylight, but there are caveats to that . . .
1. Daylight colour temperature varies wildly at different times of day.