Serious problem for a PC user

Name
James
Edit My Images
No
I have come to a point where I cannot ignore mac products any longer and I need to get some advice. I do NOT want this to turn into a flame war, I need serious, educated and acurate advice.

Allow me to set the scene.

I am opening a studio soon and I just cannot ignore the utter sexyness of the 27" imac. That screen makes me drool and I love the design, always have done.

Now I know a lot of people use mac's for photography and design and I am sure for that reason it would be perfect for me...

Heres the bite though, I have a few concerns about whether or not to switch from PC to Mac for my studio machine.

1. I have been using PC's for 20 years, I have many many qualifications in IT from MCSE, MCSD, VCP, CCDA etc etc... I am an IT tech nerd. I have never EVER used a mac and the time I had a play in a mac store I felt like a child having to re-learn a new technology. I understand the PC world inside out and build machines that are fast and reliable.

2. I am used to designing corporate networks for PC environments. I intend to build the studio using that knowledge. I want windows server with full backup and DR, sharepoint and CRM for my business systems and exchange etc for mail... (you get the idea). I have no idea whatsoever how well my MAC will integrate with that environment

3. I need to use financial packages and SAGE for example dont seem to have a mac version... what do you guys do?

4. From a day to day perspective, I intend to run CS4, Lightroom and a couple of other design packages, but how the hell do you back up your system? With my PC I have RAID internally... what about the iMac... I cant see how I can have DR and failover incase of hardware failure? I dont fancy having to waste a day rebuilding a dead system and re-installing the OS to how I had it configured...

5. Its that bloody screen! I love it... should I just build a decent PC and buy the MAC 30" screen and be done with it?