Set White Balance With Studio Flash

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

Sorry for such a simple question, but how do I set my white balance when using a studio flash?

Would I set the custom white balance with a grey card under the natural light condition of the studio (I have a Canon G12 so cannot select an image to use as reference, instead you press and hold over the source image) and the continue to shoot with the flashes?

Or do I set the WB as 'flash' and shoot a grey card image and then batch adjust the WB accordingly in Lightroom?

Thanks again for your advice - I must admit I am a complete beginner!

Set white balance to flash, and shoot a target to double check if you think it's necessary.

I suspect you're overthinking it,

Hi Mark,

all flashes have an output at the same Kelvin temperature than the Sun
shining at mid-day on the 21 of June around Washington Square…
This is what Eastman & Co will say about the definition of the "right"
°K a WB should be read from.

In clear, not all flashes a created equal but the idea is that yours should
have the same than the Sun.

Nevertheless, though I have a very good flash system, I always have a
set of reference cards at hands.

Thanks - I think you hit the nail on the head Phil! I might take a look a the ezybalance though just in case...

Mine arrived yesterday so will be having a play with it tonight! Thanks for the reccomendation.

It sounds like you're overthinking it. Your new lights should have a colour temp in their specs. Just use that

It sounds like you're overthinking it. Your new lights should have a colour temp in their specs. Just use that
They probably do have a specified colour temperature, but whether or not it bears any relation to the truth is another matter.
Years of testing lighs has made me wonder how many manufacturers actually know what colour temperature is...

They probably do have a specified colour temperature, but whether or not it bears any relation to the truth is another matter.