Shooting football... any advice for someone that hasn't shot this sport before?

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all, I've been invited to shoot a football match at a large-ish stadium. I normally shoot Automotive so it's a bit of a new one for me, as I try to expand on my repertoire of photography.

Have you got any tips?

Techniques, focal lengths, JPEG vs RAW (I'm normally solely a RAW shooter but I will need to hand over the files asap for this so is JPG better?), should I be creative or shoot tight on a specific player etc.

As you can probably tell, I'm a complete newbie to this, so any help, no matter how trivial would be really helpful.

Thanks

Basic tips would be to get low down, take a stool or sit on your gears hard case if you have one, something like that - standing up for photos really doesn't work very often

Look for the best comination of light and backgrounds. If you're in a large-ish stadium you might have the opportunity to get the stands in the background which are often better than the passing railway line or whatever else is there!

Obviously, continuous AF, I don't like dropping the shutter below 1/1000th

Shooting from behind the goal lines, lenses were typically a 70-200mm for action in the goal mouth, with something like a 400mm for action further away (full frame body assumed).

I'm a RAW shooter, but for what you're doing I'd switch to jpeg.

As for framing, what do the people you're shooting want? That will determine the tight / creative conundrum. Don't be afraid to look for shots of managers, interesting people in the crowd if you get the playing stuff covered

Hope that helps for starters

Mike

This is really helpful, thanks. I was told 1/1600 but I’m unsure which camera I’ll use, and if I go with my Micro Four Thirds setup, I’ll struggle at those speeds… good to hear I can go near to 1/1000th hopefully

The first port of call for any task like this would be to check out what others have delivered.

It’s peak action mostly.