Shutter Speed preference

Name
Martin
Edit My Images
No
What shutter speed do you prefer to shoot with for weddings? I've read that some togs like to limit the camera to minimum 1/250 with auto ISO

surely that depends upon the focal length you're using, available light and the specifics of the subject matter.
also if you're using any flash (OCF for example).

although, I'm no expert, so......I'm sure someone with more experience will pop along shortly...
in the meantime, how about some musak whilst we wait...

doo bidoo bidoooo, etc.

Last edited:
my speed range from seconds to 8000th of a second. can imagine why I would want to restrict that

Maybe I should rephrase my question.
Do you prefers to limit your shutter speed to 1/250 as freezes the majority of subjects throughout the day. And just live with the fact that you have high iso. This is of course for natural light photography.

I guess allot depends on what your own standards are, what type of photography you are undertaking and what the limits of your equipment are.

I have recently bought a a D750 and whilst viewing Ross Harvey excellent review noted his lowest shutter speed to be 1/250. I'm certainly Not going to argue against Ross and presumably for his work that speed will help freeze the slightest of movement but unless you have the performance of a 750 to 12800 ISO that's useable, that would limit most people.

For stationary stuff I have machine gunned as low as 1/4 in the past to maximise on either a lower ISO or deeper DOF so it's all relative. I think this May be what you are referring to?

Once again why restrict yourself , I've shots taken at 1/4 second to capture movement etc

Thanks Livin the dream. Your answer helps a lot.
A d750 and 1/250 it is for me then :)

It's an expensive game isn't it? The 750 is proving to be so good compared to my old 5D2 in terms of high ISO and DR. I rarely exceeded 3200 ISO with my 5D2 but this camera provides an additional 2 stops that are useable IMHO.