Beginner sigma 150-600 contemporary or Nikon 200-500 but different :)

Name
peter
Edit My Images
Yes
i know the title has been done but i am not asking it as it seems
ok i am still fairly new to Photography (2 months)
what i want is more reach than what i have (tamron 70-300 di ld) and better IQ
mainly it is for bird pictures, BIF and wildlife etc.
now i did have a go with a Nikon 200-500 the other week and boy could i see the difference in IQ between that and my Tamron 70-300 it was like chalk and cheese so to speak.
i have not had a go with a sigma but have seen quite a few good reviews.
i have the funds at the moment to buy a sigma but not a nikon
As a hobbyist (i use that carefully as i know most are) will i get good enough IQ etc. with the sigma or will i be wishing i had waited and saved for the Nikon ?
^
the sentence above i guess is what i was getting to but wanted to try and be clear about my usage and expectations etc.

p.s. the camera body i have is a D7000

Colleague at work was saving for the Nikon 200-500 and kept seeing the price go up. I bought the Siggy and teleconverter in the Black Friday sale last year, took my Canon 80D and Siggy into work lent it to my colleague for the weekend who promptly went and bought a Nikon version. His was tack sharp out of the box one very happy chappy.

Like others have said do your research lots of photos on the forum here

https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/threads/sigma-150-600mm-contemporary.583964/

well i could not have fallen any luckier
me and the mrs went to robin hoods bay today for a trip out
i set up the camera on the tripod to have my 1st go at a long exposure
then while i was taking the picture another photographer walked along and said dont worry i wont walk in-front
i was on a isolated raised up bit anyway we ended up chatting and guess what lens he had in his bag :)