Silvercrest Negative Digitiser

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,
I'm new to this part of TP.
Has anyone used the Silvercrest Negative Digitiser on sale for abot £25 at Lidl?
I bought one about two weeks ago to see what scanning my old 35mm film strips would be like.
If there is any interest , I'm happy to share my experiences of the ups and downs of scanning colour negatives with this and scan fix up.

First of all a photograph of the original print.

MRprint
by mbscad on Talk Photography

And Now the result of the Scan

MRScan

Last edited:
Thanks all knowledge is useful, while it would be interesting to see your results it might have to be more involved in that you would have to compare the results with a cheaper flatbed scanner or take the negs to Asda (£2 to put on a CD up to 36exp) to compare.......to see how good it is.

Hi All,
Has anyone used the Silvercrest Negative Digitiser on sale for abot £25 at Lidl?
I bought one about two weeks ago to see what scanning my old 35mm film strips would be like.
If there is any interest , I'm happy to share my experiences of the ups and downs of scanning colour negatives with this and scan fix up.
I'd be interested to see the results but suspect they won't be great. Those cheap scanners are not really scanners at all, they are webcams in a box with a back light, at best they can give a poor quality image just about acceptable for FaceSpace or web pages and at worst they are just a waste of money and desk space.
You'd get far better results rigging up a digital camera and lightbox or getting one of the dedicated flatbeds, there's loads of discussions in the F&C archives about scanning if you decide to go down that route.