So what exactly are photography students being taught?

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
Firstly about myself, I'm by no means an expert, my photography training consists of 4 different evening courses from a local college, each about 12 hours in total. This took me from not knowing what any of the buttons did to a reasonable amatuer with an understanding of most of the photography spectrum. I have played about with a bit of everything from Studio work to Gigs, from Sports to Landscapes. In my eyes, I know what is good and I know what is bad, I can usually avoid the bad but don't always get the good. It has been about 2 years since I got my first Digital SLR. I still have lots to learn and still find myself learning after any full day shooting. I am my own harshest critic and will not show something unless I am very happy with it and think it is my best (that is not to say they still don't have mistakes in them!)

Recently I came into contact with a few people I would expect to be far superior to me.