Beginner Something Wide?

Name
Dan
Edit My Images
Yes
Morning All,

Newbie here to the forum although been photographing for a while now, no doubt this a topic that's been discussed a fair bit?

After something wide, mainly for landscapes, Nikon fit.

Needs to have the autofocus motor built in as my 5100 doesn't have an onboard motor.

Are the two options really only

The Sigma 10-20mm or the Tokina 11-16?

Anything else I should consider at this entry level sort of price point?

Any comments/ criticisms of either lens?

Thanks

You are almost spoilt for choice really ... Nikon 10-24mm, Nikon 12-24mm, Tokina 11-16mm, Tokina 12-24, Tokina 11-20mm, Tokina 12-28mm, Sigma 10-20mm (2 versions I think), Sigma 8-16mm - and there may be others. Of these I've used both Nikons and the Tokina 11-16. The Tokina is probably the best value and @f2.8 offers options but my preference was the Nikon 12-24 mainly due to the range it covered. Make sure to get the MkII version of the Tokina as the Mk1 doesn't have a motor.

Ah, thanks for that!

Plenty to choose from then - time to start doing some reading I think!

Tokina 11-20 f2.8 is now out. Razor sharp and same price as the 11-16. No brainer. Built like a tank. Saving to buy one myself

Tokina 11-20 f2.8 is now out. Razor sharp and same price as the 11-16. No brainer. Built like a tank. Saving to buy one myself
Hi - can you divulge where you've found the 11-20 for the same price as the 11-16, please?

slightly crashing the thread, sorry BUT also for Nikon DX, is there anything ultra wide and prime that is affordable or is everything in this category zoom?

Samyang do a 14mm prime, and a 10mm I think. They also do an 8mm, but I think it's fisheye.

Would I be right in thinking that the Tokina 11-16 seems to be the favoured one in this sort of range?

Also helped by it's price point?