Speeding.....

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
So annoyed I have been driving for 26 years and had various cars and a performance car and never had any tickets, fines etc.

I went along a road the other day which was a 40 but later changed to a 30 (which I had not seen the 30 sign as there were bus lanes all over the place)

Anyway I was caught by a speed camera doing 36 in a 30 - totally not good and I am not proud or trying to wiggle out of it.

But I understand you can do a speed awareness course on your first offense - is this right and does that mean I would then not have the 3 points and £100 fine ?

Annoyed at myself but also the signs on that road were terrible.....

I got caught a few years ago in a very similar situation at the exact same speeds ironically and I was able to do a speed awareness course, as it was a first offence and low enough speed break to qualify...your letter will however tell you if your eligible to take the course, so if it doesn't then I suspect you'll have to take the points/fine...

You'd still have to pay for the course but not get the points or fine, but the course is usually about £10-20 more than the fine

Thanks I will wait and see.....

So annoyed as I NEVER speed no matter what cameras are around etc. I just could not cope with speeding and killing some kid. I honestly thought it was a 40 limit as it was an unfamiliar road and it did say 40 earlier but then suddenly changed to 30 with a speed camera

I very occasionally might drift a few mph over the limit UNLESS there is someone right on my tail as strangely this seems to make me stick to the limit like a limpit!

I went along a road the other day which was a 40 but later changed to a 30 (which I had not seen the 30 sign as there were bus lanes all over the place)