STROBIST - Home Made Triggers... UPDATE!!

Name
Rob
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone, I was recently talking to my uncle who takes an interest in my photography and I was telling him I'm thinking of buying an old Nikon SB-24, 25, 26 or 28 with some cheap triggers (Cactus or similar) then got onto Pocket Wizards and the differences between the two (including price!).

He works in electronics (hardware & software engineer, lives and breathes it) and popped up "I'll have a go at making some for you if you like and we'll try get the reliability & range somewhere near the PW's!". Naturally I said yes it's a great idea so once I manage to find a suitable flashgun we're cooking with gas.

I'll keep you updated on progress & post some piccies when they are finished...

very interested I'm an electronics student so anything I can get will be very very interesting

No probs David, I'll keep this post up to date through all stages including problems we encounter along the way

Having DIY'ed up a Flash cord before (binned it as soon as I got some wireless triggers, wouldn't want to risk it for the day a wire frays/shorts while I'm not looking and ruin an SB600), it is remarkable how simple it essentially is to make a Non-TTL cord. The only real key is making sure the hardware is reliable and safe for the flash.

lol making the remote trigger, not a longer cable. This is basicaly what I want to do for my final year project but with ettl and other stuff (to make them think its clever enough)

If he can make one as reliable (or even close to as reliable) as pocketwizards but cheaper he could stand to make a mint :)

Oh and if he needs any testing, I'm willing to spare some time to help out! (y)

Actually, i may have a go with one of my mates.

I'm on the final year of a 4 year electrical + electronic eng degree, and so is my mate.

I'm sure we could come up with something along the way..

I may be hassling you a lot in the future ant :D