Studio Lighting

Name
Nikki
Edit My Images
No
Hi, I am new to all this, just starting out. I am learning about portrait photography & I want to start up a small studio in my own home the only thing is I haven't a clue what to buy, what lights or reflectors or basically anything at all. Please could anyone help me? Thank you in advance :)

If its for a studio (not going to be used outside where you have no power supply) then studio strobes are your best bet. There are many makes but my advice is don't cheep out too much. Buy decent ones and there will last you.
What is your budget?
For a good deal then look no further than Lencarta. Good value for money and they do some good starter kits.
Take a look at this http://www.lencarta.com/studio-ligh...sh-studio-flash-lighting-kit-softbox-umbrella
Good value at £320 and gives you 2 strobes, 2 stands a brolly and softbox. Will keep you busy for ages.
As said there are other makes out there but for quality and price, I think the above is hard to beat

That is fab, thank you so much. That is round about my budget too so perfect. How does it all work, do I have to buy something to make them flash or is that in the kit? Do I need any cables to connect them to my camera? Also I'm sorry but what do I need if I want to do some portraits of my son outside? I have done some today but I can tell I need some kind of lighting. Thank you for all your help.

Last edited:
That kit comes with everything you need, inc triggers for your camera to control the 2 heads. So you wont need anything else.
If you want to light outside thats a different ball game.
You could try ambient only with a reflector (its worth getting a 5 in 1 reflector any way to be used with the studio equipment). But then you need someone/something to hold reflector to bounce light back into subject.
If you want to use flash then get yourself a Yongnuo flash (560 etc) and start with that. You can get adapter rings to use the softbox from the kit with the small flash head.