Stu's Hare thread

Name
Stu
Edit My Images
Yes
I've got a bit of a fascination with these magical animals,we are very fortunate in having several locations to visit. At present most of these images will be taken with a canon 550D and a canon 300f2.8 is,sometimes with a 2Xextender iii. Constructive critique is welcome, I want to learn. some of these images just make me smile,i'm sure they have faults and if I haven't picked up on them you guys will..... that's cool.

I really think i'd like to have them together and to add to this when I get the chance, Just days back I made a point of visiting a spot we know well,in no small part inspired by a picture shown here,cheers Dave!! I think we might have got a bit lucky,lovely light and leverets and adults on 3 sides. They knew we were there no hiding scent when one is almost surrounded,but we had a wonderful experience and even if I'm only learning da ropes it's fun to share.

Chillin:,I actually like the blurred supersized foot,not completely intentional,i'll hold my hands up there SS too slow, but hey the guy was caught having a scratch while finishing his tea,what can I say

IMG_5166 by Stuart Philpott, on Flickr

seeya

Stu

Hi Stu - here are my thoughts.

I like the pose - the grass stalk in the mouth enhances the image for me. We all have those moments where you just HAVE to scratch ;)

Looking at the EXIF data on Flickr I would suggest that you have too small an aperture (F9) and that your shutter speed is too slow at 1/200th.

Ideally you could have increased shutter speed and brought the aperture down to 6.3 or 7.1 without affecting ISO - even wide open at 5.6 may have been ok (not sure if your lens / converter benefit from stopping down a bit?)

A faster shutter speed would have reduced movement from you wobbling and from the subject. I am sure the subject would have been sharper if the shutter had been faster.