Tell me about MF cameras

Name
You can call me Sir.
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm in the mood for experimenting with some cheap MF action as my KM5D sits in it's bag gathering dust. I've never used it before and my film experience is based on an olympus slr and APS cameras. Won't let that stop me.

I've looked at Holgas which are cheap enough and could be a larf but I'd like to know more about the ones which shoot from the hip. I thought they were hiding massive viewfinders which would be easy on my eyesight but then I saw this one on ebay which has a magnifying glass to look through. The lubitel seems to be in plentiful supply at cheap prices.

what other options are there for not much money? Not sure whether to get something like a Holga where soft images are expected and welcomed or something where I might expect too much for the money I'm paying.

Any pointers for mail order labs which will scan the images to CD too? Developing myself is definately one step too far.

Cheers peeps,
Kev

Have a look at the Mamiya C220 and C330 Twin Lens Reflex Cameras on fleabay. Beautiful cameras of their time and still very usable. There's a parallax issue when you start moving very close, due to the two lenses, but there's a very accurate parallax compensation bar which is visible in the viewfinder. No magazine backs though, so you're not going to do any big weddings with it.

You'd be surprised at the prices you can pick up good SLR MF cameras for too, and they usually have the mag back and no parallax problems. ;)

Any pointers for mail order labs which will scan the images to CD too? Developing myself is definately one step too far.

Cheers peeps,
Kev

Still looking into this myself, but it seems there are a few, and Jessops will do it although they send them away,

The maginfing glass is only for checking the focus, it does indeed have a big viewfinder