The Jellyfish nebula

Name
Sara
Edit My Images
Yes
IC443 (Sh2-248) a supernova remnant (SNR) located in the constellation Gemini. It is commonly known as the “Jellyfish Nebula”due to it's shape. These types of objects are created by one of the most important processes in the universe - a supernova event - when a star explodes and scatters the heavier chemical elements it has made during its lifetime back into space. This material will eventually form into future stars and planetary systems. IC443 is thought to have been formed between 30,000 and 35,000 years ago and is located about 5,000 light years away,

This is a total of 20 hours exposure time, each individual exposure being 30 minutes long. I hope you like it!

IC443 (Sh2-248 ) The Jellyfish nebula by swag72 (www.swagastro.weebly.com), on Flickr

Awesome !! Love the image and I must admit to being a tad envious also.

Sara, I'm no expert on astro photography but this seems to be fairly spectacular to me. I now have visions of a number of similar shots hung on your wall and I'm truly impressed. Just wow!

Thanks all :clap: I've never printed one of my pics let alone hung them on my wall Pater!! A few people have bought them though and say that they look very nice.

Simply stunning. I've seen astro photography books with images that can't touch yours. Brilliant.

That's an incredible image! I didn't realise quite how much time and effort went in to shots like this, but it's absolutely worth it with results like that!

That's an incredible image! I didn't realise quite how much time and effort went in to shots like this, but it's absolutely worth it with results like that!

Thanks! Getting the data is the easy part. The processing of each individual image can take many hours - maybe 8-10 per image.

Thanks all :clap: I've never printed one of my pics let alone hung them on my wall Pater!! A few people have bought them though and say that they look very nice.