The lost craft of photography?

I was thinking back to when I used film seriously, and moving to medium format helped solve many of the qulaity issues I was complaining about earlier, because most 35mm film simply isn't capable of delivering great image quality. I still have pictures hanging on my wall here at home taken with my Bronica that I printed myself, and they have that sense of depth that you get with a great image taken on full frame. It's not about the resolving power of the lens or the number of megapixels, but about the sense of depth that you get with certain kinds of images from certain kinds of gear.

I love my Bronica SQ and my Rolleicord.

But I can't say I have a problem with 35mm quality.

I am a crap photographer but I don't see a lot wrong with this in quality terms; using Tri-x in an Olympus 35SP

img799 by Simon, on Flickr

I love my Bronica SQ and my Rolleicord.

But I can't say I have a problem with 35mm quality.

I am a crap photographer but I don't see a lot wrong with this in quality terms; using Tri-x in an Olympus 35SP

Mono often does deliver better in 35mm than colour, and note that I didn't say all 35mm film. But even back then (late 80s) there was something lacking in 35mm, and a larger film format helped provide more of what I wanted.

Always makes me chuckle on these threads when the mantra "you had to get it right in camera" comes out. Most of course didn't :p Its like the rose tinted glasses all come out and think back to everyone who had a camera was awesome and a mastercraftsman at the art, it really isn't true.