Beginner Thinking about buying a DSLR

Edit My Images
Yes
Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum and I am hoping some of you lovely people might be able to help me / offer some advise.

I love taking pics, I seem to have the eye for it but lack knowledge massively on camera functions e.g ISO, light settings etc.

I currently have a Nikon P520 and I love that it's point and shoot however, sometimes I really struggle to get it to do what I want it to. For example, taking images where the lighting isn't great (gigs, shows etc) or getting fast shutter speeds (sports day etc). I've trying playing with the settings but I usually end up with an image that's worse, blurry or completely black!

So my questions are: is it worth getting a DLSR, would it give me more freedom to change settings? Or am I best to learn how to use what I already have?

If it's worth getting a DLSR, are there any Nikon ones you would recommend to a newbie?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help / advise :)

I currently have a Nikon P520 and I love that it's point and shoot however, sometimes I really struggle to get it to do what I want it to. For example, taking images where the lighting isn't great (gigs, shows etc) or getting fast shutter speeds (sports day etc). I've trying playing with the settings but I usually end up with an image that's worse, blurry or completely black!

So my questions are: is it worth getting a DLSR, would it give me more freedom to change settings? Or am I best to learn how to use what I already have?

Hi there...