Timelapse movement - Timelapse rail project

Name
Harry
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys.

I'm fairly new to time lapsing but I was thinking when you see videos where there is movement in the video, it is moving the camera rather than zooming in progressively. If so how much would be a good distance for the camera to move in say 2 hours of recording? I guess something like 1mm/0.5mm per frame would be the required sort of speed to move the camera?

I'm thinking of making a rail that will do this via a stepper motor if it works by hand as there is some M20 bar kicking about the workshop just begging for it...

Any input welcome,

Harry.

I've been looking into making a slider as well. If you go ahead with it you should make "How To" while your at it;) As said above, the speed and distance you move the camera really depends what effect you're after. I tried it a few times on a slider where you have to move the camera yourself, but it could only be on flat ground otherwise the camera would slide away by itself lol.

I've been looking into making a slider as well. If you go ahead with it you should make "How To" while your at it;) As said above, the speed and distance you move the camera really depends what effect you're after. I tried it a few times on a slider where you have to move the camera yourself, but it could only be on flat ground otherwise the camera would slide away by itself lol.

That's what this thread was going to be... Just can't be arsed with the CAD drawings at the moment! Will probably be using mills and lathes too so not something everyone can do at home. Unless you have a workshop in your garage!!!

you could probably find a design online, its the electrical bits would be more annoying

There's a good few designs online already so might be worth a look. A few of the various commercial models available use standard aluminium extrusions, bushes, belts etc so a lot can be got easily.