Beginner To Watermark or not?

Name
Nathan
Edit My Images
Yes
I’m still a beginner, and while I want to improve my photography I have no aspirations to become a professional. Talented Amateur maybe? :p

My wife has encouraged me to put a watermark on my photos I’ve thus far put on Flickr/etc, but given my stage in still learning, I am more than a little of the thought that it would make me look like a pretentious flog!:oops: :$ Absolutely not to say watermarks in general equate to that, I absolutely understand their value. So I suppose what I’m asking is if you use Watermarks, at what point did you start using them? Is it worthwhile for someone still in the early stages of learning this hobby to use them?

Worthwhile? - probably not. Everyone can tell you they're easily removed. Can they make you look like a pretentious git? - absolutely. Can they detract from the image itself? - definitely. Should you use one? - if you want to just mark your images as yours why not something small and discreet?

You can add copyright information to Photoshop images and notify users that an image is copyright protected via a digital watermark. The watermark—a digital code added as noise to the image—is virtually imperceptible to the human eye. The Digimarc watermark is durable in both digital and printed forms, surviving typical image edits and file format conversions.

Nothing readily visible on your images if you are worried about looking pretentious using a Digimarc watermark. That's providing you have the use of Photoshop.

Everyone can tell you they're easily removed. Can they make you look like a pretentious git? - absolutely. Can they detract from the image itself? - definitely. Should you use one? - if you want to just mark your images as yours why not something small and discreet?

Good comments :plus1: … except…
Worthwhile? - probably not
If it is meant to protect your copyright, it is useless
because easily removed but to inform the viewer it
is a good way.