Beginner Total beginner with a mountain of equipment, no idea what to do

Edit My Images
Yes
My father-in-law is in a nursing home and is about to pass away. He was a hoarder his entire life and so I've volunteer clean up the house for my my mother-in-law as she's now too frail to do it herself. She's said she doesn't care what happens to the stuff so I offered to sell what I can and give her the money. She said I could keep anything I wanted. Amongst the hoard I found a load of camera equipment.

For a few years now I've been considering getting a modest camera and trying to learn a little photography. This equipment I've found feels like it might be a great start. I have next to no knowledge at the moment, just a little bit from helping my grandfather nearly 40 years ago, so I apologise if I ask stupid questions. The attached picture shows just the lenses and bodies that I've found so far. There's a ton of accessories, many of which are still in their original box. Everything looks to be in excellent condition.

I don't think the bodies will be any use to me as I'd like to go digital but would the lenses fit modern cameras? If anyone can give me an idea of what I'm looking at as well that would be great, I'm interested to learn even if I can't use any of this. Many thanks.

EDIT: Image a few posts down, I messed it up :)

KsmViZ1.jpg

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to TP

Unfortunately for whatever reason your picture is not showing....just a placeholder.

It might be a good idea to list/catalogue the gear as there are many TP members who still use film cameras.....not me, although it still have some (including a vintage collection) that I have not used in decades. They hopefully would be able to offer you more in depth insights.

As above can't see the picture and a list would be nice :D