Beginner Total novice

Name
Gene
Edit My Images
No
Hi TP group,
Looking to get my 1st dslr and I'm looking to the canon 850d but the body only as I keep watching and reading reviews and they mention that the kit lenses are not well suited for this camera.

Should I get the kit with lenses or just buy some other ones?
I have my eye on a sigma 35mm art lenses.

Thanks Gene

which kit lens are you thinking of, some have been very good.

If you're just getting started, my advice would be go with the kit lens until you get to the point where you *know* what will make things better,

You might shoot low light family stuff that includes the background at a relatively wide angle which would mean a prime in the 18-24 range might be good.
You might end up with lots of wide angle landscapes in good light in which case any 18-35mm prime/zoom might work well.
You might end up with mostly headshots and some that include the background in which case 35-55 might be better.
You could end up with a ton of images all shot at 50-55mm which might indicate you prefer the "longer" end of the zoom range.

Until you get a feel for the sort of images you enjoy shooting, it would be unhelpful to recommend a specific prime. So initially, get the kit lens and take some photos. If you find the lens starts to limit you because of a) zoom range, b) low light capability or c) image quality you can then begin to look for a lens more specific to what you enjoy taking pictures of.

I have the 50mm f/1.4 art lens and I love it. I also have the 50mm f/1.8 standard prime and I love that because of it's size and weight. The best way to buy lenses is to figure out where your gaps are, then fill them. Nothing worse than spending a ton of money on a lens that doesn't work for you.

Hope that helps. I'm sure there'll be others with a different opinion!

If you are unable to create good images with a kit lens then there is little chance of you being able to create good images with a more expensive lens.