Beginner undestanding canon dslr help

Name
kev charnock
Edit My Images
No
Can anyone please give me some advice on some very frustrating problems in having with my camera? I’m still learning photography so any advice is great

Problem

I have a Canon 600d and at air shows I use a Sigma 50.500mm 1.4-6.3 APO lens .The problem I’m having is the lens cant seam to focus on moving objects .I like going to air shows but getting fed up with lens not being able to lock on and focus aircraft it keeps focusing in and out and wont lock to give me a clear shot even if I do get it to focus is soon as I scan across the sky following the aircraft it struggles to focus and lock on. It’s not just this lens it the same with others I have tried.
.I have tried one shot . Al focus . Al servo . Iv done spot metering ,partial evaluative and center metering mode .
I have played with all settings but still it changes nothing the only way I get a shot is to stick the focus point on infinity but it’s not ideal .I recently went to the mac loop and after waiting all day in the freezing cold a typhoon appeared but as soon as I pointed camera at it the lens just could not focus on moving jet and all I got was blurred phots I’m so disappointed and really not enjoying photograph at mo. . So what’s going on? If it’s because I’m using a basic modal camera if so can anyone please recommend the next modals up that may sort this problem out I can’t afford the latest modals so I’m looking at the next upgrade that will solve my problem.
any advice would be great
Thank you for your time

Not sure if you have tried this but set your camera to use the centre focus point, switch to a1 servo you can use either to or av mode and try again

Have you tried it in 'Sports' mode?

Might be the place to start and should give you a chance of capturing something.

Try practicing on moving cars or go to a local airport if possible and have a go.

Would also be useful to post some example shot on here.

Last edited: