Beginner Upgrading from a Sony A5000

Name
Joshua
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all, I've recently taken up photography since I had a sony a5000 laying around. I'd like to upgrade but not really sure what the best place to start. I've been looking at the A6000/6300 & also a Canon EOS 250D but honestly, my knowledge is minimal.

I'm looking to spend between £300-£550. I've been taking portrait, landscape and pet photos. Thanks in advance for anyone who takes the time to read this. I really appreciate it

Hi,
I am new to photography too but I noticed nobody has offered their thoughts so here goes. i own the a6400 which is similar in many ways and highly recommended. Thus the a6000 I believe is a great camera. Within your budget it could well be the best option as the sonys tend to have better and faster autofocus especially on the older cameras and since you do pets that move a lot it could be a good idea although there isn't subject tracking on the a6000 like the a6300 which is at the top of your budget. What is it you think the camera is lacking? As improving lenses are likely to give you better photos over improving the camera initially and since the sony a6000 and a6300 share the same mount you could upgrade the body later.

Hi Joshua,
I'm also fairly new to photography, and I have the Canon 250D. It's a great all-round, easy to use camera with one significant limitation - Canon modified the hot shoe, so it's only compatible with genuine Canon flashes. So you'd be limited to fairly expensive Canon flashes if you want to go beyond the popup flash.