Using a Sony A7 as a 35mm film scanner

Name
Rob Telford
Edit My Images
No
Sony A7 'Scan' experiment by -cybertect-

I'd been toying with this idea for a while and this is my first attempt at using my Sony A7 as a film scanner - Sony A7 + Canon FD 50mm f/3.5 Macro lens + Canon FD Auto Bellows that I happen to have.

The effective resolution is about 6000dpi and rather better pixels than I get with my V700. It needed no sharpening beyond the default in Lightroom.

It's also a lot quicker :)

Original shot with a Canon AV-1 with FD50mm f/1.8 and Kodachrome slide.

100% crop

Sony A7 'Scan' experiment 100% crop by -cybertect-

V700 scan for comparison - the colour with the A7 is more accurate and was a lot easier to get right.

Sun shadows by -cybertect-

Fantastic results. Pretty sick of how slow scanning can be, especially medium format...

What was your set up for this, it certainly seems to be easier and quicker than using a scanner. Excellent result.

Andy

What was your set up for this, it certainly seems to be easier and quicker than using a scanner. Excellent result.

Andy

Yes, please share..

Well, it's as I said in the OP.

Sony A7 camera : FD 50mm f/35 Macro lens : FD Bellows : FD bellows slide adapter accessory : iPad

As I couldn't easily find my usual lightbox last night, I used my iPad as a light source :)

The Sony A7 is a 24 Mpx full frame mirrorless digicam, which allows me to use the 50mm at 1:1 magnification. Using the live EVF/screen on the camera allowed me to zoom in to 100% and focus on the grain, which made things easy.

It should work with any full frame camera with live view, though I suspect you could do it with a 1.6 crop body at a lower magnification set on the lens.

Pretty much the same setup as here with a 40D, in fact.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/hpulley/4408771957/

I had previously experimented with my Panasonic G2, but there wasn't enough travel in the bellows to get the whole of a 35mm frame in shot.