Video and kit advice

Name
Alex
Edit My Images
No
Hi all, first post here, and looking for some guidance.

I'm a professional musician, and have recently been recording tutorial play along videos for my students. Initially, I was just using my phone ( video and audio), but, I want to up the quality so have started using my studio to record the audio, and then just matching up the video from my phone with recorded audio.

So - quality of the audio is now great, but, I'm not happy with the video, and the syncing of the 2 is a pain!

Am looking for guidance on a suitable camera/video camera to record my video - just want it to look professional on YouTube. And easy software to use to edit the 2 together (PC).

Thanks - Alex.

It all depends on the resolution your looking at really to start.

I’d look at one of the Panasonic mirrorless with an fixed 17mm - 25mm prime (35-50mm). Make sure the body does 4K, get a tripod to keep it all stable and your golden.

Use Davinci Resolve 14 to throw it all together.

Other bodies that will do the same job but may cost a little more would be the Sony A6300 or the Fuji XT20. Lenses for those would be 23 and 35mm (35-50mm).

All of these bodies will need some form of mix input so have a look for a 2.5 or 3.5mm jack and use something in the £50 budget area by Rode

Thanks for the input - re resolution - I'm not sure - whatever is necessary to get pro quality looking video for YouTube/web.

With the Panasonic bodies - any models to checkout?

The Panasonic G7 will do the job, assuming t has a mic input. It’s 4k, can be found for about £350 and with a lens and mic comes in at around £530. Not bad really and the quality will be superb compared to using a phone.