Video support options

LongLensPhotography

Th..th..that's all folks!
Name
LongLensPhotography
Edit My Images
No
I'm very new to video and just trying to get the basics sorted. Primarily, I am thinking about real estate / walk through use to begin with, maybe some other work later on. Presume 5D with larger lenses at least for the beginning (mainly 5D3 ML RAW + 16-35mm f/4L IS), and camera needs to be at around 1m height. I'm 1.80.

I already own Manfrotto MVM500A monopod. Is it still worth keeping? At least for houses the monopod moves too much in directions I really don't want. I quite like the head the comes with it, but it doesn't have horizontal rotation feature itself (it's in the leg bottom!). Is there any horizontal rotation tripod adapter I can buy, preferably with the levelling bowl? Or else what tripod / head would I be looking at? I'm not looking to spend £1000s while cameras are in need of upgrade.

The the gimbal question. I'm lost if I want any of the DJI M, S or SC, Movi or even the other chinese ones? Is gimbal alone enough?

I use a Crane 2 gimbal with a blackmagic pocket 4K for this kind of thing.

I put the camera on the gimbal which has joystick panning and tilting controls and do the various walking around shots. I then fix the gimbal to the tripod with a quick release plate and do all my pans and tilts with the gimbals joystick control, while the gimbal fixed to the tripod. I have found I can get very smooth and consistent pans/tilts using this method and all the levelling is done automatically by the gimbal. You do need a sturdy tripod though as there will be quiet a bit of weight on the top. I use a gitzo 3 section carbon tripod because it's very quick to set up and rigid but you can easily move it around with one hand.

I have found a lens of about 18mm full frame equivalent works best for the majority of the shots. I don't know anything about ML RAW but I have found the Blackmagic RAW to be excellent.