What are your go-to accessories?

Name
Sean
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to the photography/videography scene, and there is so many different accessories and tools to improve my shot.

So since I am in a group with so many experienced photographers or people like me who may have a bit more insight:

What are your top 2 or 3 favorite pieces of gear you use to get the best shot?

I'm asking more about accessories/gadgets/tools instead of bodies and lenses.

Thanks so much,
I'm really excited to start digging more into this lifestyle

Sean

In addition to the camera body and lens, I'd put the priority on:

- flash to add some more light when you need to (note that I found it takes a lot of practice to get good results using flash) or led video light
- tripod to have a stable platform for longer exposures and filming
- shutter release to use with the tripod and make sure there's no shake

Have fun

Last edited:
It's difficult to say without knowing what it is that you are photographing.
Personally I would say that having a good understanding / knowledge of your subject, and technique are the best ways to improve.

My brain and its ‘experience’ in seeing compositions and esrimating the best way of taknig them.

I have a tripod but only use it about once a decade so my most used accessories are a No.4 close up filter, camera bag, rocket blower, cleaning cloths. That's all I can think of.

Oh, er... and a spare battery.

Tripod
Polarizing Filter
Comfortable carrying strap

For landscapes, a tripod and some filters. For wildlife, a good strap and some binoculars. For nature macro, a foam kneeling pad that older people use for gardening!

Fiddling with extra stuff is something that I strictly try to minimise, especially when outdoors. Body + 2 primes in a bag, that's me. Indoors I will use a tripod & lights when needed.

But for many, the gear is a big part of their pastime.