Beginner What do you give up with lower aperature (higher f-number)

Edit My Images
Yes
Everything is photography is sacrifice one thing for another.

I'm doing product photography for my ecommerce store. So I take photos with high f numbers on a trip with high lighting. For me, getting the full product in focus is important. Unless I'm going for an artistic shot.

Ususally you sacrifice one thing for another. What do you lose when you decide to get everything in focus? I know higher exposure time is obvious, you need higher lighting as well. But does the smaller aperature cause quality loss at all?

It depends on what aperture you’re shooting at and what camera you’re using. Diffraction can be an issue at narrower apertures which will indeed reduce image quality.

I’m a landscape photographer shooting in a full frame sensor so I will not normally go above f11 although I could possibly get away with f16 in a pinch. Shooting on a medium format or large format camera will allow you to use apertures of f32 and higher.

Last edited:
Diffraction (not refraction) will cause slight image softening at small apertures (large f/numbers) but this will not ever be a problem for product pictures to be viewed on a computer screen. Your customers are not going to pixel-peeping the pictures.

Last edited:
I normally go f22 just to get the whole product in focus. I'm very new to this, I noticed on my email photos (before I knew anything about aperature) that the ones with wider aperature (lower f numbers) the bit that is in focus really pops

I suppose the aperture you need to get the product within the depth of field will depend on the camera gear and settings and also the size of the product you're photographing and the size of the picture you're going to produce and how it's going to be viewed.