Wheelchair user: Things to help me use camera

Name
Gemma
Edit My Images
No
I know that this probably in the wrong place or a really strange question but I'm kind of new to photography etc.

The trouble is I'm in a wheelchair so at the moment I'm limited to angles, heights and so on. I was wondering if anyone knew or could think of any equipment I could get to help me make the most of my camera and take great shots.

Last edited:
You are actually asking in exactly the right place - which is nice! :D

There are a quite few wheelchair users on TP who post regularly, so hopefully a few of them will find this thread.

On the plus side, lower angles often make better shots, and the bonus is that you won't have to bend or kneel down to get them.

Best of luck and enjoy your new hobby! :D

Thanks, nice to know I got the place right!

You're right about the lower angles - I've often seen people get down to a similar level

You are actually asking in exactly the right place - which is nice! :D

On the plus side, lower angles often make better shots, and the bonus is that you won't have to bend or kneel down to get them.

Best of luck and enjoy your new hobby! :D

so right on that ,cannot count the times i have knelt down for a shots , kids amongst other things ..

And welcome to the forum FordMNX

Welcome Gemma, sorry I can't help but it my be worth updating the thread title so that those who know about wheelchair togging will know to look :)

:agree:
Hopefully one of our other wheelchair users will be along with some specific advice.

Until then it might help if you could tell us what sort of things you're interested in photographing. If you're just trying to get to grips with camera settings etc right now, simple tabletop set-ups can be a good starting point and height / angles will be less of an issue allowing you to just focus on using the camera.

Last edited:
Give 'Wheels' a shout, he should be able to help! (y)