Beginner When is a Beginner

Name
Dominic
Edit My Images
Yes
When is a Beginner not a Beginner anymore? What defines a Beginner?
Surely we learn all the time.
Is it just a measurement of time you've been taking photos Or
Competence Or something else?

interesting I have had a digital DSLR for four years and I still think of myself as a beginner,

I would say if you have a good handle on the triangle, pp and good composition, I would say your just off the bottom step, and after that I think it is accumulation of photographic knowledge

When you can consistently come back with good images no matter what the subject is and mo matter what the light is like.

For some situations I am not a beginner and others a total beginner.

Suppose it depends on your definition of good which is a highly subjective term and if you set good at a high level I've seen many many "pros" who hardly never shoot good photos, flickr is full of them.

I think you stop being a beginner when you are confident that you have a reasonable understanding of how to cope with your favourite type of shooting.

Absolute minimum would be understanding and applying the exposure triangle

I class myself as a Beginner with a DSLR
But not to taking photos.
I have an understanding of how things work. I don't use auto, but do use Av, Tv and manual.
Maybe I'm more of a novice.

I don't use auto either, usually av but have used manual too, never shutter and I think it's because that's what confuses me more...im a fiddler where as I need to actually stop and learn properly.

I class myself as a Beginner with a DSLR
But not to taking photos.
I have an understanding of how things work. I don't use auto, but do use Av, Tv and manual.
Maybe I'm more of a novice.
I think we are all our own worst critic, in all honesty there is not much you cant achieve in photography, silly stuff I struggle with is WB balance, seems a bit of a dark art to me, even tho I know it is only a marginal decision,

Interesting thread…