Beginner Which zoom lens to buy?

Name
Esther
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,
I'm after some advice on lenses, I've got a Nikon D5300 which came with the standard kit lens (18-55mm).

I bought it mainly to take candid photos of the kids, dogs and scenery but I'm finding that it doesn't zoom in close enough so I have to crop loads off and lose the quality.

I am very new to all this and trying to learn as much I can online so I don't buy the wrong one but getting very bogged down with all the technical speak and hoped somebody could explain the numbers and letters relating to lenses simply and maybe point me to a decent lens for around £200.

I'd read on here about a 70-300mm lens so had a quick google and the prices varied from £80 to over £1000 and I have no idea why there's such a huge difference in price and worry that my £200 will buy a rubbish quality one that ends up never being used and I can't afford to make a bad choice.

Thanks in advance for any help.

How about 18-135mm, that should be in your price range. I think it's important you get wide angle on it too of you'll shoot at home, so don't loose your 18mm. There's Sigma 18-250mm (newest model is HSM Macro) that I used, but for me it wasn't what I needed because I didn't need focal distance longer than 80mm. If you want it for sceneries too, you'll probably need over 80mm. At such zoom ranges your photos will be softer, but closing aperture a bit should help that. You can buy it for under £200 and then sell it for similar price of its not what you're after. But it will help you figure out the lengths you require. You might even keep it! It's a well-made lens and great for the price. It was made specifically for cropped sensor.

Thanks for the advice, they're both decently priced too.
I was reading the other day about how they don't class zooms nowadays as 2x, 3x etc so I find it hard to understand how much 'closer' you can get with the various lenses.