Working with people - advice.

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all, I've been a keen amateur photographer for a good couple of years now.
It is only a hobby (although my day job does involve some aspects of photography where required) and I've never had the confidence to take it further.
I know my way around a camera and understand the fundamentals required to take a nice clean sharp image...
My main job roll is to assist with marketing assistance in my company along with Web development and I look after our internal IT system.

Ive done product photography, photo editing, headshots for most of the people in the company I work for...
Now my boss has said could I come to work to take photos of his family/kids as a gift for his parents anniversary.
Although I understand what's required to take an image and I understand lighting for a group shot and camera settings... Working with people just makes me uneasy and makes me feel way out of my comfort zone. Although I know I can do it.
Do you guys have any tips on working with people?

I've never been in that situation. But I do think that any subject will pick up on your mood and you might not get the best out of it if you are tense yourself. I think that you could say the same for any situation, photography or not. It's probably not easy, but just be as open and relaxed as you can be. Don't shut off any possibilities.

Can someone else help with the shoot? For example to chat with the family, suggest some poses and so on, leaving you to concentrate on the lighting and taking the shot?

Ask questions to create dialogue and distract from the camera. Avoid politics. Shoot through a situation instead of gambling on predicting the right millisecond. Positive reinforcement is great but avoid giving them diabetes from being too positive and focus on expression. Expression is more important than the technical side of things.