Zorki or Fed?

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm looking to get myself one or the other. Probably both, knowing me, but for now, either :)
I've been looking at Zorki 4K and Fed 3's. I have no experience of range-finders at all and would love some comments/recommendations?
For preference, I'd like one with Cyrillic, though this is just a whim.

The trick isn't which one to get, or which model, it is getting a camera in which everything still works. Shutter, speeds, finder...
Personally I'd avoid the selenium meter ones cos almost all of the meters are dead, plus they look uglier.
Buy one from a collector/user. Check rangefinder forum, they're brilliant in there.
I got a couple from e-bay and both bodies have issues : but I only wanted the lenses so it didn't matter to me. They were about £13 each, inc post.
Great-looking cameras!

(I just saw youe camera list : you should buy a used G1 body too, to fit the lenses from your OM and rangefinders on too...)

Last edited:
I bought a FED-3 for the grand sum of a £2 plus postage last year. Amazingly everything worked, though it was described as untested by the fleabay seller (which usually means "I've tested it and it's munged!"). It worked fine for the first half of the test roll, then the shutter delaminated (the shutter is a pair of cloth curtains with a rubberised coating to make them light-tight) leaving the shutter leaking light like a sieve.

Test Shot...

Fed3 - Test reel - frame 30 by The Big Yin, on Flickr

Shutter Curtain...

Film Side by The Big Yin, on Flickr

After a bit of reading, I found that the shutter curtain can be re-coated with latex based fabric paint. After 3 coats, each allowed to dry overnight in the airing cupboard the shutter was back as good as new (i.e. it ran a bit slow and wasn't totally consistent, just like most Ruski Rangefinders :LOL:)

After Repair...

HP5_2010-03-24_030_800px by The Big Yin, on Flickr