Advice re getting photo published

Edit My Images
No
I have captured what I think is a moment that a sports or health publication might be interested in. It is of a man suffering a muscle spasm and you can see the quadriceps very clearly defined.

I am an amateur and wouldn't want to undermine the work of professionals, but would love to get it published. I realise this means I shouldn't give it away for free, but I wondered if anyone had any advice?

I have captured what I think is a moment that a sports or health publication might be interested in. It is of a man suffering a muscle spasm and you can see the quadriceps very clearly defined.

I am an amateur and wouldn't want to undermine the work of professionals, but would love to get it published. I realise this means I shouldn't give it away for free, but I wondered if anyone had any advice?

First thing you need to do is enter all your details into the IPTC field.. search on here for more info on that..This is very important..It will have a caption of exactly what is happening.. who is in the picture. where and when. Also all your personal details.. name/address/email/bank details and copyright info as well as a no free usage notice.. All that in the IPTC is a must!

Then send the picture to the magazines you think might be interested. to the picture desk only..... Do not send a watermarked small picture.. send them the full picture...

Email/contact? the sports or whoever editor explaining what you ahve and that the picture has been submitted.

thats about it I think :)

Thank you so much for a quick and helpful response. I'll look into doing that. You put bank details too?

I've tried to reach the person in the photo to get his permission, but have had no luck yet. I found him on Facebook and he doesn't appear to be a regular user. Do you know if I need his explicit permission if it was in a public place? It was during the half marathon I photographed.