B&W Developers... waddya know???

ChrisR

I'm a well known grump...
Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
I've been developing my own black and white films for a couple of years, but I've only used Ilfosol 3 so far. It was what was on offer in the shop where I bought my first set of chemicals, and when the first bottle was finishing I simply bought some more. Now that bottle is also finishing, and I need to decide whether to just stick with what I know, or venture into trying something new.

I mostly use Tri-X but in the past year I have used Delta 100 and 400, FP4+ and Acros 100. I also have a roll of Pan-F.

A lot of people use Rodinal or equivalent, with stand or semi-stand developing, but that's not an option for me since I use a Rondinax daylight tank to overcome manual difficulties with my right hand.

I'm not even sure I understand what the criteria should be. So far there is obviously usability (so one-shot from liquid has a real advantage), toxicity and smell factor, storability, life before going off (and indication of going off) and so on. I've also seen reference to contrast (-iness), tendency to enhance or decrease grain, "sharpness" and "acutance", which I don't understand. Also, "tonal range". Any more?

There's a blog written by a guy called Richard Pickup, who may be a photography lecturer, and who has articles on this sort of topic. He also has a "pebble project" (see gallery); he has built a standardised scene with a bunch of pebbles glued to a board and he photographs these with various films and processes them with different developers. To be honest, I can't see that much of a difference! You can easily find plenty of other people saying this, that or the other developer is the bees knees (ID-11 seems to be a favourite with some folk), but, well, you are the folks I know best, and I can more easily ask for clarification!