Budget full frame setup?

Name
Charles
Edit My Images
No
Hi guys,

Just finished my uni degree and looking for a budget setup (under £650) for portraiture photography. I was going to get a Sony a7r ii but people are selling them for a little too much for me.
I’ve found an ad for a Sony a7 with its kit lens (28-70mm 3.5/5.6) and a viltrox lens (85mm 1.8) with adapter for canon lenses. He’d sell it to me for £600 and though the camera is well used it seems to be in great physical condition. What do you guys think of this deal?

If its not good, does anyone know of a good setup for less than £650?

Thanks

Hi, I will get the ball rolling.... Nikon D610 plus Nikon 24-120 f4 should be available used within your budget, may even stretch to include a nifty 50mm older manual focus.

Personally I have no experience of Sony so I will leave that to others to comment.

I think the Sony deal looks good. An A7 and kit lens would probably cost you £600 or more so the 85mm is icing on the cake.

I've had the original A7 since it first came out and I think the only real weakness is that the focus tracking isn't up to fast action. Other than that I think it has real advantages over a traditional DSLR. I also have but hardly use the 28-70mm kit lens and I think for the spec and money it's a good lens. Personally I'd rather have a 35mm f1.8 than the 85mm but that's a personal choice.

I'd go with Steve's choice, but instead of a 50mm prime (though a good choice), would go for an 85mm. The AFS 85 1.8G is a great lens for the money at around £200.00 this would leave you £450.00 to pick up a low shutter count 610.

No good for portraits though - unless you want to post distorted 'big nose' pics. :ROFLMAO:

Sorry but what a ridiculous comment this is. You're better than this or at least you should be.