Bulk loading cassettes

Name
Stephen
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,
I was recently given an Alden 74 daylight bulk loader and was wondering where to find reusable cassettes? I have found a few plastic ones but have heard mixed reviews. Any recommendations?
I am a broke student so can't afford to spend a ton on them.
Thanks

="john.margetts, post: 8145135, member: 80766"if there is someone who still processes film near you, them.

To clarify John's meaning, a cassette does not have to be re-useable if it still has a short piece of the previous film still sticking out - you can then tape the new length of film to the old one. It has to be thin tape so that it doesn't stick in the cassette.

TBH if you are short of cash, bulk-loading may NOT be the best way to save money.
I used to do it as a student, quarter century ago; when there wasn't an alternative to film; but even then..... a bulk length of decent film, was no cheaper than buying cheap film ready rolled in cans... buying cheap film in bulk lengths... yeah... I have lots of wonderfully grainy photo's from that era!!!!! BUT... I got photo's!
The 'savings' if there were any... take heed, expenditure tends to budget plus over-draft..... were to be found in processing... or more precisely NOT processing!
Mini-lab type commercial developers were always rather squiffy about bulk-loaded or re-used cassettes.... they didn't know what was in them, they often would refuse to develop them... meant that for the most part, bulk-loaded film demanded kitchen-sink-souping.....
Again, costs tend to budget plus credit..... set-up top home-soup needn't be an arm and a leg, and you may already be tooled up... but.. you need add cost of tank and chemicals at the least, and now you can, IF you do enough films, start to save money, over handing the can over the counter at Happy-Slaps..... BUT, you do have to do enough films to start see savings, and that can be quite a lot, as in 30 or more.