Beginner Canon Lens for Beginner

Name
Babu
Edit My Images
No
HI All

As my title say's I am beginner in photography with a gifted D-SLR ;) . I have a "Canon EOS 650D Digital SLR Camera - Black (Inc. 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II" , used it on few occasions and realized it needs additional Len's for better performance ? ( correct me if wrong ).

Please can some one suggest me better Len's so I don't have to change/move between the basic (18-55 mm ) and the new one's . I mostly use it for Holidays (city breaks , resorts etc ) & at home (parties/celebrations etc) so my target is to capture places I visit & my beloved one's in it . I have read one of the beginner's thread with varied options like [Tamron 70-300 etc ] but unable able to figure out which one will fit my purpose :( . So can you please suggest me any decent lens that fit's my canon with affordable price .

Thanks in advance :)

i'm still a beginner really but the first thing i learnt was you get what you pay for with this stuff - i don't know tamron but at those prices i'd be suspicious.

what lens you get depends on what you want to do but if you want reasonable quality and a range of zoom you could go for the canon 18-200mm, it has its critics but even i can get decent shots with it and it has nice features like a lock which means the lens doesn't accidentally extend when the camera's hanging over your shoulder (something that used to annoy me about the 18-135).

it's the right level of quality for your camera i think

i'm not sure what you mean by "so I don't have to change/move between the basic (18-55 mm ) and the new one's"

but if you go for this lens and liked it you could partly pay for it by selling your existing one as it covers the same zoom range.

I would have thought the lens you have to be ideal.
The Tamron you mention is a high quality piece of glass for the money.
I'm guessing your looking at this one ?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Tamron-AF-7...ie=UTF8&qid=1448969685&sr=8-3&keywords=70-300.