Beginner Choosing a camera

Edit My Images
No
Hey guys

I have a budget of £350.

Im new to photography and am looking for a DSLR which will be able to take good low light images.

I have looked at th Nikon D5200, what are your thoughts?
Are there any better options?

Second hand or new.

is that just for a DSLR and lens or will you need anything else, memory cards etc.

Depends what you really want to do with it and as Colin says, is that budget just for body or - as I'm assuming - body + lens.

You could get a cheap second hand body plus nice 50mm (or 35mm) fast prime for about your budget. Good (but not brilliant) high ISO performance would include the Sony A58, Pentax K5-ii as well as the usual suspects from Nikon/Canon. I think the former of those last two big brands usually has better high ISO capabilities, although that may not hold as true at the budget end, where you're very definitely looking. Sony and Pentax can be had for about £250 body-only, possibly less.

But here's a bit of a leftfield idea: how about a Sony RX100? It's a compact (although possibly one of the best ever made) but it has surprisingly good high ISO performance and the fixed zoom lens goes as wide as f/1.8 at the wide end, I think. It's about £250, give or take.

You could have a really good play with it and decide whether you want to get more into photography as well as decide what your new, higher budget might be at that point. When you make that next leap, you can either keep your super little compact as a "always have it with you" camera or sell it for nearly what you paid.

Well 'What Camera' seem to like the D5200 and for sure it's likely to meet your needs as a beginner in my view. Does seem to be on your budget limit with the 18-55mm kit lens, which will get you started, but may not be the highest quality. Have a think about what you want to take pictures of and why you think you want to start with a DSLR rather than a compact camera.