Close Focussing

Name
Ian
Edit My Images
No
Ah the joys of getting old...

This morning I was making an effort at my latest 52 entry. Toys (blurb here).

It's the first time I've tried to focus using ground glass and I had real problems with my eyesight. I have distance glasses for driving, and middle distance specs for monitor work, and for reading I don't use specs at all. Without specs, I lose focus on the subject at about 8 inches away. With specs it's worse.

Looking on the ground glass, it was very difficult to tell whether I was in focus or not.

2021-05-15-panf-tommy-04.jpg

I was at f/32 so obviously giving myself a bit of wiggle room, and the resulting images look acceptably sharp to me, so I managed it ok, but there were a lot of crossed fingers and the occasional naughty word under my black cagoule.

I've heard that people use loupes to get good close focus, and I've never used one myself, but before splashing out on one, I wondered whether the fact that I can't close focus will still cause a problem.
Anyone got any thoughts, or should I trundle off to an optician?

I bought some swing up 4x clip on magnifiers that fit my normal glasses from eBay £5.59 they work well for groundglass focussing and also for fiddly repairs to cameras and electronics.

Last edited:
I am short sighted, with my left eye clear vision ends a literal handspan away. With contact lenses, I use very powerful reading glasses to see the ground glass from a short distance. I always use a loupe.

My caveat has to be that at least some loupes are set up for people of normal vision; without glasses my Rodenstock loupe fails to deliver a clear image unless I adjust the dioptric setting. So, loupe highly recommended, but either get one with dioptric correction or use distance glasses with it.

P.S. I got a new loupe for Christmas, so if you'd you'd like to see if a loupe works for you before buying, you are welcome to borrow my old 4x loupe. My new one is 6x.