Beginner Complete beginner. Need help.

Name
Lizzie
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey guys,

I'm a real beginner here. I know absolutely nothing about photography, or the way my camera works.

I want to be good enough to set up a business doing family photography, but where do I start?!

I have a Canon EOS 100D that is sitting on my coffee table.
I've thought about jacking it in already as getting going seems to be really slow.

Can anyone offer me tips and advice?

Where do I get prints from? How do I start? Do I practice using clients at a discount?
Is it worth it?

Thanks, I really appreciate everyone's input and criticism, whether good or bad.

Hello and a very warm welcome to you Lizzie.

Useful Sections for New Members (click links)

> The Help section contains some good general information about how we do things around here and how the forum works.
> FAQs and Guides can be found here.
> Forum Help and Support is there for you to ask questions and get one to one support if you're having problems finding your way around or working out how to do things.
> Link up with other photographers in your area for local events and days out in Meeting Place.
> Or maybe you fancy a challenge . . . Take a look at some of the organised TP challenges and competitions here.

I think your jumping in at the deep end and taking on too much. First get to know the camera inside out, its limitations ect. Then gradually build up a portfolio of shots on Fllickr usually to share on here for hints and tips to improve things. Do lots of reading and asking questions on here. Many here will have taken the same route as you, but walk it and don't try to run.(y)

If you really are serious about this, then my advice is as follows in exactly this order.