Beginner Complete Beginner

Name
Luke
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey Everyone,
I'm Luke! I am new here, I joined some time ago to have a look at the amazing pictures that can be found and I thought I would finally try and learn how to take a half decent photograph.

I'm lucky enough to have picked up a very well priced Cannon 60D for my first camera.

I wondered if anyone could point me in the right direction for the best "dummy guide" for taking pictures on manual mode. I've looked around on youtube and google etc but just wondered if there was anything specific that someone could point me too. Or even a beginners class at a reasonable price.

Thanks a lot! Happy easter Monday!

Hi, Luke, and welcome aboard. Firstly, I would not be in a hurry to get into manual mode. Why not start in full auto to get some photographs. Not sure what kind of photographs you are after, sport, landscape, portraits? Then use one of the semi automatic modes.

There are a few free courses in here some will say read you manual, but I find them mindnumbingly boring :)

Cheers.

I wondered if anyone could point me in the right direction for the best "dummy guide" for taking pictures on manual mode.
Welcome Luke, and as Andy says, there is no rush to attack full manual mode as yet, try some of the other options, full auto, TV, ( shutter priority, for moving objects) AV (for landscapes and sitting children etc). That should get you started.
There is also a dedicated 60D thread, its quite long but have a browse through.

https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/threads/canon-60d-owners-thread.443997/

Welcome to TP.

As above, get out with the camera, take pictures.

Start with P mode and auto ISO, but make sure you're controlling what the camera focuses on (by selecting the focus point.

Making pictures is about saying something about your subject, we do this with light, composition and focus.