Coolant level

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys

I’m no mechanic but on my car info display it has flashed up coolant level low. Purchased some anti freeze from piindland, now, I just want to make sure this will be fine? The car is a 2012 astra diesel automatic, and I’ve located the anti freeze container and opened it; it’s indeed made the correct “whoosh” sound, I just want to check this is the right thing to do..

Advice appreciated as I hate error messages and would like to top up tonight to avoid another stressful day.. did I mention I’m no mechanic? [emoji23]

Not sure why there should be a "whoosh" from your container?

However it should be just a case of topping up your overflow tank to the maximum mark, BUT only when the engine is cold.

So a job for tomorrow morning :)

Is the new coolant the same colour as your existing coolant. You shouldn't use the wrong coloured coolant. It doesn't mix and will reduce its effectiveness at the very least.

I'm guessing it was still under a little pressure.
As opposed to the washer bottle .. :D

Is the new coolant the same colour as your existing coolant. You shouldn't use the wrong coloured coolant. It doesn't mix and will reduce its effectiveness at the very least.

The colour has nothing to do with it, but yes it is possible to get different types of coolant which are not compatible with each other. The information will be in your owners handbook, and may even be on the filler cap itself. A quick google reveals you should be running Organic Acid long life stuff, not the old fashioned ethylene glycol stuff.

However it should be just a case of topping up your overflow tank to the maximum mark, BUT only when the engine is cold.

So a job for tomorrow morning :)

It’s kind of like the sound you get when something is sealed and you open it. Letting the air escape?

Will pop it in in the morning!

Ahh.. the new coolant is blue, it was red/pinkish in the engine? Reckon it will still be okay?