Dark prints

Name
neil
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all, novice here have found when printing out my photos at home the prints are a bit dark, dont want to spend a fortune on calibrating my cheap monitor, are there any easy ways round this ?

Hi all, novice here have found when printing out my photos at home the prints are a bit dark, dont want to spend a fortune on calibrating my cheap monitor, are there any easy ways round this ?
The first 'guide' to too dark a print compared to the monitor, is that the screen is too bright!

PS that would apply whether printed at home or the image file is sent away to a print 'lab'.

Last edited:

One easy way is to alter the brightness in your print software. I don't know what you're using but there's almost certainly a print properties or set up section with sliders. I'd recommend doing small test prints until you find the setting that give you the best results.

Try setting the brightness to between 35%-40%, seems to be about right for most screens after calibration

Last edited:
Thanks for the advice gents, at the moment am doing a separate edit for printing and just guessing based on the print before.

No, not really. Your edits must be way too dark. You could post some if you wanted an actual critique rather than going on a wild turkey hunting
dont want to spend a fortune on calibrating my cheap monitor, are there any easy ways round this ?

@neilgriffs

Would you like to clarify whether you are saying the prints are dark compared to the screen view that you see when editing i.e. the screen view in your editing software looks fine but the print is dark?
Because as I said above in post #2, if your screen is too bright it is almost(?) inevitable that any prints will be too dark by comparison................and no amount of editing will truly IMO compensate for that type of mis-match :banghead: