1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Damo88

Damo88

Name:
    Damen
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Im doing a couple shoot Friday.

I know how to control my iso and shutter speed etc, but question is, what aperture do I use to get 2 people in focus??

I understand the wider the aperture the more blur background etc, but say if I shoot as a close up could I go down to 1.8?? I do have a 18-55mm kit lens and a 35mm 1.8g lens.

what would be the mx aperture to use so I don't loose quality??

please be kind guys as I am still learning and all I have had is sarcasm from people before.

thanks

2. Durbs

Durbs

Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    There's no set answer really as it depends on how light/dark the scene is (and if you're using flash), how close you are to the couple, and how the couple are standing relative to each other as these will affect how much depth of field is required, and how much light you need to properly expose the scene...

The only suggestion really is "probably not f/1.8 and less than f/8" but even this is just a guide.

I'm not a great portrait photographer, but generally I would have a shutter speed of at least 1/125 for posed people (higher for moving toddlers!), and keep ISO between 100-800.

3. J Veitch

J Veitch

Name:
    James
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Lenses usually perform better in the middle of their aperture range (for critical sharpness). Is the shoot indoors, outdoors, how are you thinking of lighting the scene? A wide aperture (low f number) will allow for selective focus that can be used to focus attention, but is less forgiving (moving the camera, or subject back and forwards can result in missed focus). Can you try out settings in the location without anyone else to get an idea what you want?

4. KIPAX

KIPAX Waldorf

Name:
    KIPAX
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    f4

5. Photodiva

Photodiva Foot elevated on the stool

Name: