Beginner Editing software for beginners

Name
Jake
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey all!

I'm a fairly new photographer and I'm starting to think about getting some editing software to be able to edit my photos.

Just wondered what people recommended both on how complex it is for a novice to use and the variety of features on offer.

I've been looking at adobe photoshop elements.

Would love to hear what people think.

Thanks in advance!

Adobe lightroom is my preferred choice, has basic to very advanced features and is geared towards photography. Also it has a great cataloguing and tagging system. You can subscribe to adobe CC in which you get lightroom and photoshop (plus a few others) for about £8/month. I do about 99% of my editing in lightroom and 1% in photoshop for those times I need the odd thing that LR can't offer.

Elements is great, and you can have a free trial to see if you get on with it. It comes with a catalogue, "Organiser", as well. LR and Elements do similar things, but I personally get on much better with Elements.

I use the very powerful Capture One as RAW converter and partial editor,
Affinity Photo as pixel editor and OnOne Perfect Photo Suite for imaging
(works RAWs as well!) All offer free
trials!

Since two years now, I do without anything from Adobe, I sold my Master Collection!

Last edited:
Elements is great, and you can have a free trial to see if you get on with it. It comes with a catalogue, "Organiser", as well. LR and Elements do similar things, but I personally get on much better with Elements.
I do think in large we tend to prefer what software we started out with. People who started with PS and PSE using layers and masks will always tend to prefer these, likewise those that start with LR will tend to always prefer LR and find layers and masks a bit confusing, for a while at least ;)